Tires/Rims/Suspension Discuss your tires, rims, and your suspension system in here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6th Gen ('00-'05): Tire Pressure Sensor

  #1  
Old 04-07-2015, 03:34 PM
bowtiebandit23's Avatar
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Morris County NJ
Posts: 200
Default Tire Pressure Sensor

what PSI do your tires have to drain to before the Tire Pressure Sensor throws a message? for ex, i have standard 225/60/r16 with max load 44 PSI, i usually keep them around 35-37psi.
 
  #2  
Old 04-07-2015, 03:44 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

The sensors work from the wheel hub assembly sensor. It detects when one tire is rotating at a different speed than the others, so it typically is when one tire is 5 pounds lower than the other 3.

Your max load of 44PSI is not a fill-to recommendation. I would lower the PSI to what the car requests on the door jam, which is around 32. (unless you are wearing out the sides faster than the middle from under-inflation)
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-2015, 03:59 PM
bowtiebandit23's Avatar
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Morris County NJ
Posts: 200
Default

Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
The sensors work from the wheel hub assembly sensor. It detects when one tire is rotating at a different speed than the others, so it typically is when one tire is 5 pounds lower than the other 3.

Your max load of 44PSI is not a fill-to recommendation. I would lower the PSI to what the car requests on the door jam, which is around 32. (unless you are wearing out the sides faster than the middle from under-inflation)
lol duh i know that! dont need one of them to explode lol.Will have to lower them slightly. i was a little late on the last round of tire rotation due to the long winter so the rears are slightly worn more on the side than the middle from the winter driving so they are slightly uneven. But i did that 2 weeks ago and it just popped up today. They all looked in range at an eyes glance but will have to double check again what each exact psi is after the rain stops here.
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-2015, 12:16 PM
bowtiebandit23's Avatar
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Morris County NJ
Posts: 200
Default

So yesterday my low tire pressure message came up. And on my way to work this am my service traction light came on to and shut my traction off. Any ideas? Okay to drive?
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-2015, 01:22 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

Originally Posted by bowtiebandit23 View Post
So yesterday my low tire pressure message came up. And on my way to work this am my service traction light came on to and shut my traction off. Any ideas? Okay to drive?
Okay to drive (make sure your tire pressures are good), probably have a wheel hub starting to go out, or the wiring to one is bad
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-2015, 01:36 PM
bowtiebandit23's Avatar
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Morris County NJ
Posts: 200
Default

Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
Okay to drive (make sure your tire pressures are good), probably have a wheel hub starting to go out, or the wiring to one is bad
I replaced both front bearings within the last two years. 30k miles accumulated. I know for a fact I did indeed crack two of the sensor housings when I was installing my suspension 2 weeks ago. Maybe some water got kicked in and tripped/broke it? I'v heard a lot of our cars and just gm in general have the same problems with tire monitoring systems.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-2015, 12:40 AM
ohara's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- April 2015
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Brockville Ontario
Posts: 3,052
Default

Your abs wheel speed sensor could also be a broken wire, I had to replace my wires a couple years ago as the wires weren't worth soldering and fixing as it was just going to be a matter of time. You can buy replacements on e bay for around $20, they get brittle with age and break up along the frame where they are routed so you unfortunately have to trace the wires back to find the break. The water will also set the sensors off if it gets in.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
iMuf
Tires/Rims/Suspension
10
02-01-2013 07:36 AM
06BlackSS
General Monte Carlo Talk
52
11-21-2012 06:01 PM
98Z34
Monte Carlo Repair Help
4
08-07-2011 01:24 PM
rj
General Monte Carlo Talk
14
02-07-2007 03:06 AM
Great White North
Tires/Rims/Suspension
2
03-10-2006 01:33 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 6th Gen ('00-'05): Tire Pressure Sensor


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.