Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): Fixing engine wiring on '01

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2014, 08:21 PM
Default Fixing engine wiring on '01

Hi everyone,

My '01 Monte Carlo SS was broken into this weekend. I believe they used a slim jim because no windows were broken. They actually didn't take anything which is nice. However, I'm guessing in an attempt to stop the alarm, they opened my hood and started ripping electrical connections. They removed some fuses which I already replaced, but they also yanked a large electrical connector apart which sits near the battery. See the picture to see what I mean (apologies for the poor quality).

I'm not excellent with cars but I am an electrical engineer so I think I can fix this myself. I was wondering if there is a diagram somewhere of the pinout of the connector. It looked to me like the wires are all color coded which is good, but there could be some duplicate colors, I didn't check exactly. Unfortunately it's parked in a parking garage and isn't convenient to have towed or have someone take a look at it if that needs to happen.

Is it a good idea for me to fix this myself? Anyone ever have to replace this connector that could maybe lend some advice? Am I taking a big risk by doing this, could I do damage to my car if I make a mistake?

Thanks for any help.
-Ian
Snapchat-20140330065928.jpg

Snapchat-20140330065945.jpg

Snapchat-20140330070002.jpg

Old 03-30-2014, 09:25 PM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2014
1 Year Member

Originally Posted by honk
Hi everyone,