New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

Another Canadian has signed up

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2009, 11:07 AM
Default Another Canadian has signed up

Hello all!
I'm from near Montreal, Quebec, Canada (the cold North!). I don't own a Monte myself but my girlfriend has a 5th gen '95 LS, with ~170000 km (105000 miles). She bought it 2 years ago to replace her crashed Honda Accord. Previous owner was a mechanic, but as I told my girlfriend, it means nothing when buying a used car. :p

While I'm not a mechanic, I like to tinker with my cars and fix 'em myself (with a lot of help from manuals, internet and my dad). I always owned Volkswagens though (currently a Jetta TDI), so I'm much more used to "german engineering" and that's why I subscribed here. GMs may be simple to work on, but you gotta get used to it first and know the particular bits & tricks (like every makes). I'd like to do some preventive/normal maintenance on the Monte to cut down repair costs, and learn the common weak spots to check 'em out before they break. I may not post much, but I read/search a lot don't worry!

The car had a few hacks done to it by the PO:
ABS deactivated (was told it was useless/borderline dangerous (in Winter) anyway - if it's like the late 90's Cavaliers, I agree)
Headlight switch override - lights are always on with ignition, no matter on the light switch setting.
The secondary radiator fan doesn't come on automatically anymore. Driver must toggle a switch way in the lower dash when/if temperature rises. I don't remember the reason behind this.