Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

5th Gen ('95-'99): Ticking noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2021, 11:38 PM
Default Ticking noise

Had a tick for a while, Ive done a lot of repairs to my 3.1 monte. Ive even reseated the valves but I cant seem to get rid of this tick. Ive ruled out lifter tick and exhaust leak cause there doesn't seem to be any leak from the exhaust and no matter how much lucas I put into it the tick never gets any quieter or goes away.

I think it could be rod knock so this weekend Im planning to take off the oil pan and timing cover to see whats up. Im not a mechanic, Im an 18 year old kid who just wants to see the car run mint. If anyone has any suggestions or has had a similar issue and can give me advice Id love to hear it. Thank you

Old 04-27-2021, 09:51 AM

Are you sure its not injectors?

IMO I wouldnt bother pulling all that stuff out to check the rods. If that really is bad theres nothing you can do anyways. The end result is another junkyard engine, so I'd just run it until it blows unless you absolutely needed to rely on it for long distance trips or something.

Do you have any mechanically inclined friends? Rod knock is unmistakably different from lifter tick / exhaust leak. So maybe someone with experience could take a listen to give you more feedback. Hard to provide many suggestions online without actually hearing it in person.

Old 04-28-2021, 12:41 AM
Default Went to junk yard

Got a set of used injectors from the upullrparts and nope same exact ticking noise, read through my manual and it says if the octane is below 87 it can cause a knock so I put some turbo 108 in and did a slalom to mix it all up and let it run for about 15 minutes and still same tick.

Old 04-28-2021, 08:13 AM