Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Need Advice on Purchasing 2003 SS

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2013, 08:27 PM
Default Need Advice on Purchasing 2003 SS

Hello everyone,

I currently own a '96 Monte Carlo with 194k miles and have been very satisfied with it till now, but I think it's about time to retire it as it's become a bit of a money hole.

That aside, the car was otherwise extremely reliable, and I had very good luck with the '96 for the 5 years I've had it. I'm a recent graduate and am now looking to purchase something a bit on the frugal side. Specifically, I'm considering a 2003 Monte Carlo SS:

2003 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS - Hatfield Pennsylvania area Toyota dealer near Philadelphia Pennsylvania

The car has 86,741 miles on it, which seems not all that bad for a 2003 at an average of 9,000 miles/yr. The Carfax shows no reported accidents, and my visual inspection and test drive of the car seem to indicate that it is in pristine condition. My intuition tells me that whoever owned it last took very good care of it.

The only thing that worries me is that I noticed on the Carfax that 3 years after its purchase date, the ignition switch was replaced; 6 years in, the catalytic converter was replaced. I'm no expert, but both of those seem awfully soon after purchase for those types of repairs to be necessary. I was under the impression that the latter is supposed to last roughly 10 years before replacement.

For those of you more technically inclined than I am, would you see that as a bad omen? I'm emotionally attached to the Monte Carlo and would very much like to own another one, but the market is scarce in my area and I'm trying to avoid falling too deeply in love with the 2003 SS I'm looking at if its history indicates that purchasing it is a bad idea...

Thanks for any advice,
-Evan

Old 04-16-2013, 08:36 PM