Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Factory Stereo Display Issues

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2011, 03:01 PM
Default Factory Stereo Display Issues

I'm new to post here but have sought all your advice for a while now. I'm stumped on this one though. I have a 2004 Intimidator, I bought it used last year. I love the car but have an issue with the stock stereo- The display will occasionally just go blank and the buttons are useless. The ***** still work, though, as well as the steering wheel buttons. It's not a huge deal- the sound works-, just frustrating. I can't afford a fancy replacement stereo. Do you think a used replacement stock stereo be an option?

Also, it never keeps the correct time- it loses hours, not just minutes. I was told by an "expert" this may be because I never activated the OnStar, and I have to deal with it. Does that sound right??

Old 06-30-2011, 09:50 AM

I dont think the onstar has anything to do with your radio...onstar works off the rear view mirror...by the way.....your onstar will no longer function on your 2004 Monte...They went to a new digital system in 2008 i believe so the onstar box and the rearview mirror controls are now useless unless you have the dealer install the new digital onstar with a contract. As far as your factory radio is concerned...you can either take it out and go to a car stereo repair center and have your radio repaired and reconditioned with new ***** and face plate..or go on the web and find the repair centers which can sell you a remanufactured UNLOCKED unit where you can just plug it in without it having to be reprogrammed for your vehicle...Hope this helps

Old 06-30-2011, 10:35 AM