Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Considering a 98 Z34

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2010, 07:51 PM
Default Considering a 98 Z34

Ok, I'm looking to get a 98 or 94 Z34 for the Mrs.
She loves Montes (I do too) and it's gotta have the L36. We currently have a 98 Bonneville SE and I'm an Admin on a Bonneville forum. SO, I am comfortable with the L36. A 00+ just isn't in the budget.

I found something that we are considering.
It's a 98 Z in South Jersey. That's a bit of a distance from me, but I have a friend (one of our gearheads) in Philly who's going to go look at it for me.

The issue is, besides the gasket issues with the 3.8, what are some common issues that he should look for that are common with this platform?

He's going to try to see it on Thurs so I want to gather as much info for him as I can.

Here's what we know about the car in question.

Selling the car as is, can be used as a parts car or fixed. Car does not run, we believe head gasket went. It has 179,000 miles, body is in good condition aside from usual wear and tear. Interior is good, drivers seat has a tear, and console door needs to be replaced thanks to puppy. Has all options, sunroof, ac, auto, pw, pl, steering wheel controls, remote start, etc. there are issues with driver side window, not sure if switch or what. Any other questions or pics, feel free to ask if are actually interested. Car is white with charcoal interior.
They are only asking $400. Not worried about the gasket, that's a given anyways as far as I am concerned when buying a car with the 3800. Interior also isn't an issue as all the leather seating would be coming out and getting replaced with cloth. The wife doesn't want leather.

Old 02-16-2010, 09:48 PM