Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): 2005 Monte Carlo SS Supercharged

  #1  
Old 06-26-2019, 07:06 PM
michelob's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI.
Posts: 382
Default 2005 Monte Carlo SS Supercharged

Was leaving a restaurant tonight and the "security" light popped on in the message window as I was backing out----and stayed on for the 4 minute drive home? I turned off and restarted the car when I pulled it in at my apartment just to see if it would restart and all was fine and I didn't notice the light? What would have caused this? Is my key bad? Are the wires in the ignition bad? Was the key not inserted all the way maybe? If there isn't a 100% answer I'll have it looked at professionally. I'm reading where some "passkey" wires wear out in the back of the ignition?

Thanks guys.
 
  #2  
Old 06-26-2019, 08:39 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,955
Default

Funny, my Grand Am (which has the same security system as the Monte), it sometimes pops the security light and next restart, no light. I have attempted to check it with a Tech II, but I cannot find anything. I am guessing it *might* be related to my aftermarket remote start. The security bypass module I used is a self learning one (some you have to do volt readings and then set a setting on the module). I am suspecting it's that module, but I don't know a real way to prove it (as the problem is pretty random). And my Grand Am has done this off and on for a couple of years now.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-2019, 06:45 AM
michelob's Avatar
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI.
Posts: 382
Default

Originally Posted by The_Maniac View Post
Funny, my Grand Am (which has the same security system as the Monte), it sometimes pops the security light and next restart, no light. I have attempted to check it with a Tech II, but I cannot find anything. I am guessing it *might* be related to my aftermarket remote start. The security bypass module I used is a self learning one (some you have to do volt readings and then set a setting on the module). I am suspecting it's that module, but I don't know a real way to prove it (as the problem is pretty random). And my Grand Am has done this off and on for a couple of years now.
Hmmm OK I'm gonna monitor it. I do have a tuned PCM from ZZP and had trouble getting the learn process to take so I had to drive to them and have them do it at their shop but that was over a year ago? I also have an aftermarket stereo with 12" subs and a 1000 watt amp. I'll keep an eye on it and see if it comes back its weird I have not seen that light since when I tried to do the relearn process on the new PCM?
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-2019, 07:42 AM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: around cal city,il
Posts: 3,136
Default

Same with my bonneville.. Security pops up and wont be there the next time...
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.