Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

4th Gen ('81-'88): 1985 Seafoam help....?

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 01:35 PM
Default 1985 Seafoam help....?

Mods I want site where this would go as I am just starting out here so please adjust the location as necessary

Hey guys, new here and just posted an intro here.

I've got a new to me 1985 monte carlo. Car runs well for its age but I have no maintenance records other than knowing my father had the oil changed before I took it off his hands. A friend of mine suggested using some sea foam on it to give it a little tlc in a can. I used some in the gas tank as that is easy enough to figure out.

What I need help figuring out is with the carb. Keep in mind I have no idea what I am doing with a car of this age. I thought this car was only carbeurated but after finding a VIN cheat sheet from this wonderful site, my ride is apparently electronically fuel injected. Maybe you pros can figure that out from the pictures. ..

Anyway, I tried pouring a little bit of the treatment into this line here:

vaccum.jpg

I followed the proper instructions and procedures and after restarting the car I had no smoke whatsoever. I refuse to believe that the components were that clean.

So I'm going to try again to get some smoke to come out of this thing by getting rid of the deposits. My question to you guys is where to I add the treatment?

The same vacuum line which is attached and hidden under this piece:

hiddenvaccum.jpg

Or do I need to dump or here (obviously the air filter housing had been removed to get to it):

carb.jpg

Thanks for any help guys. Saw all things seafoam just not for my application and any above or previous overlooked threads would be helpful.

Old 09-03-2013, 02:30 PM

Check the below `Vid,
I hope it helps you > Good Luck
Also, check back on your thread to see what other member's have
done when they used Seafoam...

Old 09-03-2013, 08:56 PM