Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Radio Install Problem

  #1  
Old 09-08-2011, 06:32 PM
Tyrail's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cannon AFB, NM
Posts: 11
Default Radio Install Problem

Wats up people???? Im currently installing a Pioneer avh-p4300dvd in my 06 SS. Hooked everything up BUT...... I have NO IDEA what to do with the red wire (accessory wire I think) apart of the harness. The red wire apart of the stereo harness wouldnt work anywhere but with the Illumination wire. So basically the only way I can get it to work is by turning my headlights on. I hooked it up to the yellow wire but it wouldnt cut off. I dont know where to put the red wire though. Google (Metra 70-2105 Radio Wiring Harness for Impala/Monte Carlo 2006 and Up) to see the harness
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-2011, 06:54 PM
03JGMonte's Avatar

Monte Of The Month - March 2010
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15,217
Default

I usually connect each wire with the same color wire on each harness, I've got the same radio as u & it works fine
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:12 PM
Tyrail's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cannon AFB, NM
Posts: 11
Default

Do u have an 06-07?
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:15 PM
03JGMonte's Avatar

Monte Of The Month - March 2010
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15,217
Default

I've got an 03 but I've installed alot of radios on gm cars & trucks, & every one I just match the wires up from the radio harness & the modual harness, so red to red, yellow to yellow etc, post a few pics of your harness & all
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:19 PM
Tyrail's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cannon AFB, NM
Posts: 11
Default

Can you google Metra 70-2105 Radio Wiring Harness for Impala/Monte Carlo 2006 and Up (the whole thing). The individual red wire is the one i have problems with its not attached to the harness
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:38 PM
03JGMonte's Avatar

Monte Of The Month - March 2010
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 15,217
Default

Mmk well i looked it up & it just says run it to a fuse box or accesory so wat i would do is get an add a fuse & connect it into the radio fuse & see if that takes care of it

Add a fuse
Pico 0956pt Mini Fused Circuit 16 Awg 10a:Amazon:Automotive
 
  #7  
Old 09-10-2011, 02:21 PM
Tyrail's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cannon AFB, NM
Posts: 11
Default

Got it. I just had to run the red wire to the ignition fuse in the fuse box. Thanks a million
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
LilSeanCB
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
7
01-05-2012 06:23 AM
matt210
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
5
06-25-2010 10:31 AM
KWJR86
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
0
01-26-2009 08:27 AM
JuiceJames
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
9
05-07-2008 08:35 PM
Endo
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
4
04-02-2008 11:20 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio Install Problem


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.