Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Can i swap factory deck

  #1  
Old 01-10-2012, 06:57 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Can i swap factory deck

i have a 2000 monte SS stock stereo and i want to change my deck but im worried about losing all the warnings etc like tire monitor reset oil change reset etc is it possible to change decks and keep all these options
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:06 PM
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eustis, Florida
Posts: 1,261
Default

you will still have those. there are different ways to reset them with out the radio. i have done it a few times already!
 
  #3  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:09 PM
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hopewell, PA
Posts: 2,378
Default

You can still reset the oil life monitor through depressing the accelerator pedal 3 times and reset the tire pressure monitor by turning your light switch on and off 3 times (the more specific, detailed instructions are on the site somewhere and in the owner's manuals), but you won't be able to change the other settings accessible through your factory headunit.
 
  #4  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:58 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

perfect thanks alot
 
  #5  
Old 01-10-2012, 08:44 PM
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hopewell, PA
Posts: 2,378
Default

You're very welcome!
 
  #6  
Old 01-10-2012, 10:16 PM
lougreen03's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 8,442
Default

Some people buy an additional harness for the factory stereo and either mount it in the trunk or just run the harness into the glove box and just hang onto the radio. Then just pull it out and hook it up when you need it.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
bcnewfie
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
25
10-05-2014 03:00 PM
tpulliam79
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
4
10-25-2011 01:40 PM
CashMoney
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
7
05-17-2011 03:45 PM
eric.parent
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
3
03-22-2011 04:42 AM
jkeller783
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
3
05-01-2008 11:06 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Can i swap factory deck


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.