General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

stolen monte carlo

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2011, 03:43 AM
Default stolen monte carlo

can somebody help me out I had a 84 monte carlo cl that was stolen 10
years ago and just the other day i run into it i know its my car it had a custom candy paint job custom half vinyl top.they put some paterns on the paint and painted the white vinyl red it still has the same brown interior i got chillz when i saw it so i call he highway patrol the run the plates and the car is not stolen it checked outl the only thing that was recovered was the frame so they had plans to change the vin numbers
is there any way to prove thats my car

Old 07-04-2011, 05:47 PM
Taz

Monte Of The Month -- March 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Welcome to the forum.

Wow. I can understand your anxiety about the car. I would be the same way. I'm no legal expert. But I would think that if the VIN number doesn't match, you definitely have your work cut out for you.

I'm sure it is your car. Some thieves are smart enough to swap the VIN with a "clean" one. This makes your work harder. I'm sure police will probably be polite and run the plate and VIN. But outside of that, I think they'll probably tell you things like 10 years is a long time, people occasionally make their car look like others they've seen, the parts from your car are probably installed on many different cars, etc, etc...

If your insurance company paid you a settlement when your car was stolen, I don't think you'd get it back even if it is your former car.

Again, I'm no legal expert. And I hope others will be able to offer you some more encouraging info.

Being a car enthusiast, I'd feel the same way you do. A large part of me would want it back at any cost. But another part of me knows that if the car has been gone that long, I won't be getting it back.