General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

help me please with a 99 3.8lv6 monte

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 07:50 PM
Talking help me please with a 99 3.8lv6 monte

This problem is driving me nuts! Coolant was disappearing and oil was milky so I talked to a local mechanic and he told me these engines were famous for bad LIM gaskets so I changed them and the UIM gasket but I also noticed that the UIM itself was rotting away where it meets the throttle body but only on the lower part where the holes ( I don't know what they're called I'm just a shadetree mechanic if that) are but since I didn't have any more money and I figured what the hell only air should be passing through the TB anyway ( I'm used to working on much older carburated cars ) I put it back together and after fixing some leaky plastic elbows (get this they leaked and they are new WTH?) I am still loosing coolant somewhere but its not mixing with the oil or actually leaking anywhere anymore. Its just disappearing! No smoke out exhaust but there is a strong coolant burning smell coming from engine somewhere. It's been doing this for several months but it runs great especially for having 187K on it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I hate taking cars to the shop. I'd rather do it myself but I'm at my witts end.

Old 02-15-2011, 11:10 PM

after fixing some leaky plastic elbows
I'm assuming you're talking about the coolant elbows on the passenger side, that connect between the LIM and alternator bracket?
If so, when you removed the old ones, did you happen to completely clean out the holes that the elbows go into? They are notorious for breaking off the very tip of the elbow when the old ones are removed, and thus causing leaks since the new elbows won't fully seat.

Old 02-16-2011, 08:27 AM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member