Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

6th Gen ('00-'05): New Tranny or...?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2014, 12:29 PM
Monte of the Month -- December 2013
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default New Tranny or...?

As most of you may know, a few years ago my car started acting up where it would jerk and "grind" rapidly at low RPM's. I brought it to a shop awhile ago and they said after just test driving it, that I'd need a new transmission. But he never really thoroughly looked at it, so I figured I'd ask you guys n' gals. Granted, my car has 184k on the clock. I have no knowledge whether or not it's still the original transmission or if it has been replaced.

During the cold winter months, I rarely have any issues with it. The only time it will act up is driving in town for an hour or so, and even then it just slightly hesitates...However, the other day when it was 50+ degrees outside, I went for a drive and it started acting up almost immediately! So it's really just warm weather that effects it..

My question is, do you guys think it's really the tranny? Someone told me awhile ago that it could possibly be one of the lines. Would just like some other option before I fork over the $3K

And also, after 2 years (20k miles) with this issue it still works like a champ! Only except when it's warmed up..so if it was the transmission, wouldn't it have gone by now?

Last edited by Monroe; 03-19-2014 at 12:33 PM.
Old 03-19-2014, 12:37 PM
Monte Of The Month -- January 2014
1 Year Member

Sounds like the fluid is getting thinner In the warm weather or after the car warms up. A fluid thickener may buy you time.