Monte Carlo Forums

Go Back   Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > Monte Carlo Repair Help
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to the Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:06 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default cruise control

cruise control turns on but wont engage when i press set. checked the fuses and they seem ok. any ideas???? sorry if i posted in the wrong section and yes i used the search function before creating this post.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 09:35 PM
AwesomeSS's Avatar
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 12,364
Send a message via AIM to AwesomeSS
Default

Could there be a vacuum leak somewhere? Check the hoses under the hood, there might be a tear or hole somewhere. I am not sure which hose it would be though, sorry.
__________________

2003 Monte Carlo SS: Dynomax Exhaust, U Bend delete, K&N CAI, Graphics
2014 Ford Mustang GT/CS Convertible
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:32 PM
Enzo354's Avatar
STILL SLOW
Monte Of The Month -- May 2010
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nubraska
Posts: 7,065
Send a message via AIM to Enzo354
Default

Check the wires to the pcm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2009, 10:59 AM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default

thanks enzo. what type of test can i do for vacuum leaks and pcm? and wheres the pcm located at?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:01 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 22,975
mikerogers.design ChibiBlackSheep mikerogersdesigns ChibiBlackSheep ChibiBlackSheep thismikerogers
Send a message via AIM to ChibiBlackSheep
Default

PCM is in your air-box.

Just out of curiosity, you are trying to set the cruise control at what speed? It doesn't work at low speeds.

I know it's a stupid question, but some people think they have broken cruise control at 30 MPH
__________________

Daily Driver - 2013 IOM Camaro 1LS | LFX and M6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:46 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default

i try to set it around 65-70. i hope its an easy fix. if i need a whole new mmodule i might say forget it since my warranty is out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2009, 05:30 PM
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default

same problem. first post. heya. The cruise light comes on when the button is pushed. The vehicle doesn't maintain the speed set. A few questions for ya....

Is the Cruise Control ran on a vacuum?

Is there a diagram of the Vacuum system?

Where is a good place to start to figure this problem out?

I wanted to try to figure it out before I have to take it to the dealer.

03 ss with 102k miles on it.

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:56 PM

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same exact issue, I replaced the underhood cruise assembly and the steering wheel control switch with no luck, it is the only symptom I have wrong with the car. I have heard it has something to do with the bcm needing to be reflashed or replaced. but I havent got alot of advice yet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-25-2010, 03:29 AM
lucian*91's Avatar
1 Year Member

 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 736
Default

nelskin already checked he third brake light on his, but if it is inop, your cruise will not work. u other two should check the third brake light to rule out that option first
__________________

originator of the taz shirt traveling around united states and canada
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2010, 04:54 AM
drjesus616's Avatar
 
Trader Rating:(0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 231
Default

my old car was very finicky about actually setting the speed, the cruise control light would come on but would start decelerating very soon after letting go of the gas ... but she was old and a ford,

however i have noticed that the monte doesnt always set the cruise if youve already let off the gas, you know, you were going too fast already and were letting the car coast down to the speed youve wanted to set,

i would start with the easist things you can think to do, like allowing the car to reset itself, by disconnecting the battery for a long enough time to clear everything, youll lose your mpg history, and trip records but big deal, try swapping out fuses anyways, ive had ones blow and look close enough to not be able to tell on a precursory glance

and the better shops, check around, will do a free diagnostic on your car, to see if they can pull a code that perhaps is not triggering a check engine light or actually screwing with the car
__________________


Gone ... before she blew up, best of luck next owner
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2010, 04:54 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 2003, 2005, added, carlo, chevy, control, cruise, light, monte, problem, set, ss, troubleshooting, wont, work, working


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.



SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.