cruise control - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums


Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-30-2009, 04:06 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default cruise control

cruise control turns on but wont engage when i press set. checked the fuses and they seem ok. any ideas???? sorry if i posted in the wrong section and yes i used the search function before creating this post.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2009, 09:35 PM
AwesomeSS's Avatar
THE JUDGE
Monte Of The Month -- November 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2012
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wauconda, IL
Posts: 13,335
Default

Could there be a vacuum leak somewhere? Check the hoses under the hood, there might be a tear or hole somewhere. I am not sure which hose it would be though, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:32 PM
Enzo354's Avatar
STILL SLOW
Monte Of The Month -- May 2010
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nubraska
Posts: 7,074
Default

Check the wires to the pcm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2009, 10:59 AM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default

thanks enzo. what type of test can i do for vacuum leaks and pcm? and wheres the pcm located at?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:01 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,347
Default

PCM is in your air-box.

Just out of curiosity, you are trying to set the cruise control at what speed? It doesn't work at low speeds.

I know it's a stupid question, but some people think they have broken cruise control at 30 MPH
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2009, 12:46 PM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 59
Default

i try to set it around 65-70. i hope its an easy fix. if i need a whole new mmodule i might say forget it since my warranty is out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2009, 05:30 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default

same problem. first post. heya. The cruise light comes on when the button is pushed. The vehicle doesn't maintain the speed set. A few questions for ya....

Is the Cruise Control ran on a vacuum?

Is there a diagram of the Vacuum system?

Where is a good place to start to figure this problem out?

I wanted to try to figure it out before I have to take it to the dealer.

03 ss with 102k miles on it.

thanx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:56 PM

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I have the same exact issue, I replaced the underhood cruise assembly and the steering wheel control switch with no luck, it is the only symptom I have wrong with the car. I have heard it has something to do with the bcm needing to be reflashed or replaced. but I havent got alot of advice yet
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-25-2010, 03:29 AM
lucian*91's Avatar
1 Year Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 736
Default

nelskin already checked he third brake light on his, but if it is inop, your cruise will not work. u other two should check the third brake light to rule out that option first
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-25-2010, 04:54 AM
drjesus616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 231
Default

my old car was very finicky about actually setting the speed, the cruise control light would come on but would start decelerating very soon after letting go of the gas ... but she was old and a ford,

however i have noticed that the monte doesnt always set the cruise if youve already let off the gas, you know, you were going too fast already and were letting the car coast down to the speed youve wanted to set,

i would start with the easist things you can think to do, like allowing the car to reset itself, by disconnecting the battery for a long enough time to clear everything, youll lose your mpg history, and trip records but big deal, try swapping out fuses anyways, ive had ones blow and look close enough to not be able to tell on a precursory glance

and the better shops, check around, will do a free diagnostic on your car, to see if they can pull a code that perhaps is not triggering a check engine light or actually screwing with the car
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Cruise Control Is Possessed! Scary! RickCoMatic General Monte Carlo Talk 2 01-03-2008 08:50 PM
Runaway RPM's / Cruise Control?? RickCoMatic General Monte Carlo Talk 1 12-16-2007 02:22 PM
Cruise Control on 2000 LS dogmanx Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 2 11-17-2006 03:25 PM
95 Cruise Control Not Working Seanzy Monte Carlo Repair Help 0 06-01-2006 08:32 PM
Cruise Control Pop montejass Monte Carlo Repair Help 0 03-22-2005 04:04 PM


Tags
03, 2003, 2005, added, carlo, chevy, control, cruise, light, monte, problem, set, ss, troubleshooting, wont, work, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.