Racing your Monte Raced a guy in your ride? Had that Monte Carlo of yours on the timed track? Tell your story here.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Power Programming a 2001 Monte Carlo SS

  #1  
Old 11-23-2012, 01:25 PM
Shondu's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Smile Power Programming a 2001 Monte Carlo SS

I just purchased a Hypertech Power Programmer 3 for all 3800 Monte Carlo, Regal, and Impala. I would like to know if anyone has suggestions about where to set the REV limiter and SHift Points? I am new to this and I don't want to ruin my car. Has anyone done this or used this programmer before?
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-2012, 12:38 PM
Enzo354's Avatar
STILL SLOW
Monte Of The Month -- May 2010
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nubraska
Posts: 7,074
Default

Don't touch any of that. The rev limiter is set to what your motor is able to do. Unles you do a cam, better valvesprings, etc, you can't raise it without losing a lot of power or damaging the engine.
I personally would return that and pick up an hptuners and have someone who does a lot with 3800s help you out in person. The only thing I ever changed on my tune, being a stock non supercharged 3800 was the speed limiter, and we bumped up the 3-4 gear shift rpm since it is set so low for the limiter. It's hard on the transmission though.
 
  #3  
Old 11-28-2012, 04:13 PM
Shondu's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Post

I agree but I just need to know what if I increased the Rev limit to 6000 RPM where would i set the tranny to shift? 1-2 MPH, 2-3 MPH, 3-4 MPH, and 4-5 MPH. That is what the power programmer asked me.
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-2012, 07:01 PM
Enzo354's Avatar
STILL SLOW
Monte Of The Month -- May 2010
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nubraska
Posts: 7,074
Default

The rev limit in which gear? You don't even have a 4-5 shift. You really want to leave the rev limiter stock.
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-2012, 07:41 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,821
Default

You can't shift past 5900RPM on a stock valvetrain.
 
  #6  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:02 AM
Shondu's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 4
Smile

OK, I won't touch the rev limiter! How about the shift points? I believe it asked 1-2, 3-4, 4-5 and it wanted MPH... What about that setting? I know my perfomance won't increase much because of the large wheels but I want to make it was fast as I can without them. There's also a kit for a 3800 turbo on ebay and I was wondering what you guys thought about those?
 
  #7  
Old 11-29-2012, 10:58 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,821
Default

eBay kits are terrible ideas.

It wants the MPH, but no one knows without running data. You need to know how to run the car hard and see when it shifts and at what RPM and Speed, and TPS. This is why tuning software is much better than these. They store the data, and allow you to make the choices.
 
  #8  
Old 12-03-2012, 08:11 AM
turbo monte's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ford city, pa
Posts: 5,055
Default

Agree. Return the hypertech I had one and it was useless and a waste of money. Get yourself HP tuners.

Unless you mod with a cam or valve train its harmful to rev or shift higher. You will lose power and harm the engine....
 
  #9  
Old 06-01-2013, 03:02 PM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 117
Default

Originally Posted by turbo monte View Post
Agree. Return the hypertech I had one and it was useless and a waste of money. Get yourself HP tuners.

Unless you mod with a cam or valve train its harmful to rev or shift higher. You will lose power and harm the engine....
I 2nd this, or is it 3rd this by now... I have HP tuners and our cars shift points can be determined by a number of things, RPM, MPH & Throttle position.

The car has to meet both Speed & RPM requirement in order to shift. It is usually better to leave the RPM setting lower & set the shift points by MPH. As others have stated it is best if you have supporting mods, Valve springs, rockers / different Cam.

I recently installed an XP hot cam with better springs & according to ZZP shift points can be 6,400 and rev limiter 6,800. Note you will also need to adjust the Fuel cut off vs. RPM. (I think this is normally set around 6,000 by default)

As a word of caution, if you do purchase the HP tuners, be prepared to spend MANY hours learning about tuning if you are new to it..
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
BigEd
Monte Carlo Repair Help
3
07-11-2014 03:22 AM
Shondu
Monte Carlo Repair Help
1
11-24-2012 11:01 AM
04 Intimidator
Off Topic
0
01-04-2008 04:44 PM
ajsbengals
Headers/Intake/Exhaust
5
03-18-2007 07:05 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 6th Gen ('00-'05): Power Programming a 2001 Monte Carlo SS


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.