New Member Area New to Monte Carlo Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

New 5th Gen owner here (going to need help!)

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2014, 11:13 AM
Smile New 5th Gen owner here (going to need help!)

Hi everyone! I'm Andrew. I'm new to the montecarlo forum but not new to vehicle specific forums in general.

I just acquired a high mileage 97 LS, on a whim with very little prior inspection to the vehicle. It was an even trade for an 89 s10 4x4 I had which I no longer needed due to also recently acquiring a 97 S10.

I am incredibly lucky to have an ASE certified master mechanic for a father. Thanks to him I have a pretty good level of mechanical knowledge and many hours of experience turning wrenches.

I am hoping I can put everything he has taught me to good use and turn this car into a great daily driver, but as with my other cars I have found vehicle-specific forums to be invaluable when troubleshooting and looking for ideas.

Right off the bat here I could use some help. I wanted to stick my code reader on the car last night and see if anything was pending. No CEL right now but that is easily cleared long enough for a trade like the one that occurred last night so...

Here is my problem: Cannot locate the OBDII port!
Seriously. I expected it to be under the drivers side dash just like it is in my 97 S10. No can find. Am I blind? Or do they have a different location for it?

There are many suspicious things to inspect on this thing to determine whether I have traded up or been burned. It has 224k miles. One owner till 2012, then changed hands twice before landing in my lap. Overall not bad looking, little fender rust and scrapes and dents, interior is decent. Power windows work and all. Engine starts well and transmission feels good. Slight tick on cold startup that goes away when its warm. Rear struts are SHOT, brakes are weak, I have some work ahead of me for sure.