Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

2nd Gen ('73-'77): Vacuum Port Confusion

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2024, 06:03 PM
Default Vacuum Port Confusion

Hi all! I am very new to auto mechanics, but has been an interest of mine for some time, so I finally bit the bullet about a 6 months ago and bought a 1977 Monte Carlo. It has been a fantastic car thus far, and has required very minimal work to run like a charm.

That being said, about a week ago, my engine was stalling out every mile or so. RPMs would drop quickly, sometimes I'd be able to save it if I shifted to neutral and revved it up a bit, but most times the engine would stall and power steering/braking would fail.

I was looking at it with a buddy of mine who is a bit more versed than I am from working on his own car, and we noticed that the PCV valve was completely hanging loose. I replaced the PCV valve with a new one, fitted it down the best I could, but we noticed that there are a ton of uncapped vacuum ports that we cannot make heads or tails of. I'm not sure where, if anywhere, they're supposed to connect. I can cap them off so there isn't excess air intake, but I get the feeling some of these are supposed to be connected back somewhere. We have looked up multiple diagrams but cannot seem to find a solution.

Pictures are attached to this thread with the ports circled. Please feel free to respond with any questions or advice for a beginner to all of this (very addictive) madness.

Thank you!

Last edited by bw88; 04-30-2024 at 06:08 PM.
Old 05-01-2024, 09:23 AM

Oh boy, where do I start…
You should consult the vacuum diagram(s) in your 1977 Chevrolet service manual. If you don't have one, get one. I'm going to give you some basics but you really should consult the service manual.
Looking at the photos you posted, it looks like someone rebuilt/replaced the carburetor; they obviously didn't do a proper job of hooking everything up.