Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Electrical Issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2022, 07:21 AM
Monte Of The Month -- June 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Electrical Issue

Monte Brethren,

Recently I've been having an electrical issue somewhere causing the headlights, dome light, dash lights all to flicker bright to dim while driving. I've tested the alternator output and it is strong at 14.5 and the battery tested fully charged. I think it may be an issue with the amp and sub in the trunk, however I'm not tech savvy with such things. I had them put in when I bought the car 9 years ago and they were used equipment when I purchased them. I was thinking a chafed wire somewhere? This started about three months ago and is seemingly getting progressively worse. Anyone have a clue if I'm on the right track before I start ripping sh*t out of this car. It's about to drive me insane......Thanks in advance...

Old 04-06-2022, 09:19 AM

Isolate the circuit feeding current to the amp and sub in the trunk — you should be able to do that by disconnecting the power lead.