Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Smoke coming from sub box?

  #1  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:44 AM
Boxman420's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eustis, Florida
Posts: 1,261
Default Smoke coming from sub box?

allright so i went to go drop my parents off at the airport today and my sub wasnt working.(alpine Type S 12in.) its hooked up to a M500. it worked perfectly fine yesterday. amp power light is on. but it keeps blowing fuses. and the sub has smoke leaking out of the box. none of the amp settings are near MAX they are at most half way. is my sub blown already? its only been hooked up for about a month. and i just switched amps.

P.S. i did just hook up my HIDs. if that has anything to do with it? all wires look good. everything gets power still
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-2011, 10:54 AM
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 871
Default

Fried coils... gotta be.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:14 AM
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 697
Default

or you might of crossed something.
 
  #4  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:28 AM
Boxman420's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eustis, Florida
Posts: 1,261
Default

im realy hoping its not fried. i took it out of the box.. pushed the cone down with both hands it made no scratching or any noise. was just as smooth as before. could a short in a remote wire or something cause this?
 
  #5  
Old 06-05-2011, 11:32 AM
jaws2008's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- April 2011
GOT SPL
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 1,571
Default

To much bass boost, wiring wrong or its getting some type of distortion(HU, Amp. etc..)
 
  #6  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:06 PM
Boxman420's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eustis, Florida
Posts: 1,261
Default

i have my sub wired to my m500 like this and my sub is a 4ohm DVC

http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...4-ohm_mono.jpg
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:08 PM
MillerMonteSS's Avatar

Can't spell PIMP without an MP
Monte Of The Month -- November 2010
2010 Monte Of The Year
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Grove City, Ohio
Posts: 2,626
Default

It's wired at 2 ohms... That doesn't seem right.
 
  #8  
Old 06-05-2011, 12:32 PM
jaws2008's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- April 2011
GOT SPL
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 1,571
Default

Could be to much power too since the sub is only 300rms.. Usually it be ok but not always.
 
  #9  
Old 06-05-2011, 01:23 PM
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St. Paul MN
Posts: 293
Default

You're going to blow your amp out.

Sounds like your voil coils are burnt (which sucks for you)

If you have a DMM set it to ohms hook up the +/- ends to the speaker terminal(s) and push down on the cone, if the reading changes (a lot) good sign that the voice coils are burnt.

This probably happened from incorrect wiring

Next step is re-coning or new subs

And hope u didn't blow the amp too
 
  #10  
Old 06-05-2011, 03:40 PM
Boxman420's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eustis, Florida
Posts: 1,261
Default

i disconnected my amp now. i dont think its blown. but im gonna check other wise im gonna be pissed cause i just bought this amp last week for 200$. i do have a DMM and i used it on each sets of terminals and one read 1.0 and the other read 1.2 OHMs
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Smoke coming from sub box?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.