Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

New Deck...crap sound. Novice here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2010, 01:24 AM
Default New Deck...crap sound. Novice here.

Story:
Radio stopped working a few weeks ago (everything stock/04 Monte SS.) Brought it into the shop (specializes in Car Audio/Video) on Monday to have it checked out. Was told my head unit had died and had to get a new deck. I did so. They said they had to bypass the factory amp to do so. OK, great.

Got in the car and was at first happy to hear music again in my car. Then turned it up and realized it sounded like crap...almost like a boom box was sitting in my back seat. No distortion...just poor (unless I cranked it - then obviously some popping.) I was hoping I could just get a fix to make it sound like it did when the head unit was working. I turned it up...messed with the controls...still not happy.

Went back in and was told I could get an aftermarket amp and new speakers and would be happy. Politely declined...I'm willing to spend some money but would rather do it myself to save a few bucks. I am on a bit of a budget right now - but am just looking for a short term fix as I have two long road trips coming up in the next month. Eventually I would like to get some nice speakers and a sub - but don't want to go cheap when I do so I'm going to hold off until I have the money to burn for higher quality.

The deck is only giving out 50W per speaker...so here is my birage of questions.

What would be the best way to go? New speakers? I was happy with them when the factory head unit was working. Can I just buy an aftermarket amp and install it to the aftermarket deck/factory speakers? I understand eventually I'll probably blow the factory speakers...but like I said - I just need this to hold over for a few months.

Would appreciate any and all advice! Thanks in advance

Old 05-05-2010, 07:21 AM