Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Message center and radio compatibility

  #1  
Old 11-26-2018, 12:05 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 27
Default Message center and radio compatibility

Ive been looking into installing one of those 7 inch touchscreen radio systems. But I don't want to lose the ability to reset the engine oil change message and those things. Do I need to stick with the single din to avoid this issue?
Thanks Y'all
 
  #2  
Old 11-26-2018, 06:34 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,912
Default

If you look in the owner's manual, I believe there is an alternate way to reset the Tire Life and Oil Life monitors. Key fob programming is done via the radio or with a GM Tech II. Some people relocated the factory radio elsewhere in the car to retain some of these functions.
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-2018, 10:09 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 27
Default

Originally Posted by The_Maniac View Post
If you look in the owner's manual, I believe there is an alternate way to reset the Tire Life and Oil Life monitors. Key fob programming is done via the radio or with a GM Tech II. Some people relocated the factory radio elsewhere in the car to retain some of these functions.
Thanks, I'll take a look as soon as I get my Monte back.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-2019, 07:12 PM
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North GA
Posts: 15
Default

We put a new touchscreen Pioneer in my 2001 Monte SS. New speakers too. We bought ours from Crutchfield.com. They sold us a kit to add on. All it does is warn if the seatbelt is not on, or if you leave your key in the ignition. I can say the chime is not very ear friendly. I can no longer program anything else. The oil light is from another sensor on mine. Hope this helps.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-2019, 11:02 PM
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Centralia, IL
Posts: 27
Default

Alternate way to reset "Change engine oil"light is to floor the accelerator pedal to wot 3 times and hold on 3rd time. Some have to be done from throttle body as cable has stretched.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.