Headers/Intake/Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

PO420 With fairly new cat

  #1  
Old 08-17-2011, 10:49 AM
Overdose666's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 433
Default PO420 With fairly new cat

Well I've fixed nearly everything on my baby these past few days, after i replaced some relays i had my car checked for codes and im getting the PO420... I replaced my cat in may of last year so im fairly certain thats not the problem. I'm thinking its either a dirty or dead sensor in the back. What would be best for cleaning it? I was thinking of using some B12 or some carb cleaner but i dont wanna cause any damage and id like to avoid shelling out any more money.
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-2011, 11:39 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

Did you replace the Cat with an aftermarket one, or an OEM one?

Basically every Aftermarket cat will throw that code eventually. They just don't perform to the strict settings of the OEM.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-2011, 12:48 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
Did you replace the Cat with an aftermarket one, or an OEM one?

Basically every Aftermarket cat will throw that code eventually. They just don't perform to the strict settings of the OEM.
this^

is it because they flow more tho or what?
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-2011, 12:51 PM
Overdose666's Avatar
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Decatur, GA
Posts: 433
Default

I replaced it with the zzp 2.5" with highfow cat, and i think my computer was just bein silly. I unplugged the battery for about an hour to get rid of the code is was still throwin for my radiator fans, now theres no CEL. Im hoping it was a fluke but im expecting it to pop back up as i drive more.... I'm still beyond pleased that theres no CEL at the moment. I haven't seen my dash so empty in a long time... definately a great day considering my gf is about to get back from her trip too
 
Attached Thumbnails PO420 With fairly new cat-score.jpg  
  #5  
Old 08-17-2011, 01:07 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,955
Default

As for P0420, I've seen a bad rear O2 sensor cause this. To my knowledge, there is no "cleaning" an O2 sensor, it needs replaced.
BUT, as mentioned, the after market cats (not just on GM cars) can cause this issue. Now you switched to a 2.5" ZZP highflow cat. I know they warn about this error on the product page. Knowing you have a high flow cat, I'd skip replacing the rear O2 (as it has not affect on performance). From what I see, you have 2 solutions:
1. - Look up the spark plug anti-fouler trick. The idea is to space the O2 sensor out of the main exhaust stream. It then gives the PCM acceptable readings.
2. - Have the PCM tuned and that code deleted.
Yes, some companies sell an O2 emulator. I've read they are hit or miss and only work on certain years. Option #1, less then $10 DIY project. I was going to do option #1 on my Monte after my High Flow DP if I got the 420 error (at the time, I was not sure I'd go for a PCM tune). Luckily, I never had the code pop BUT I since had the PCM re-tuned and that code deleted.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-2011, 01:20 PM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,822
Default

Yes, the error code pops up because they flow better, and since it is out of the range when the o2 sensor reports to the PCM, it comes back as faulty.
 
  #7  
Old 08-17-2011, 04:52 PM
zjerry's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- July 2011
Monte Of The Month -- December 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: St.Louis , MO.
Posts: 7,522
Default

When I put headers on my monte I used that trick ..Because my cat is on the floor in the garage.. No check engine light or codes ..
1. - Look up the spark plug anti-fouler trick. The idea is to space the O2 sensor out of the main exhaust stream. It then gives the PCM acceptable readings
 
  #8  
Old 08-17-2011, 11:24 PM
red04montels's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,356
Default

Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
Yes, the error code pops up because they flow better, and since it is out of the range when the o2 sensor reports to the PCM, it comes back as faulty.
gotcha, that's what i thought but wasn't sure, thanks!
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JFMonteCarlo03
Monte Carlo Repair Help
17
04-26-2014 11:50 AM
Nick07
New Member Area
11
09-15-2009 04:40 PM
Lumpo
Headers/Intake/Exhaust
22
07-16-2009 03:18 PM
Sporty7579
Monte Carlo Repair Help
11
06-26-2009 06:22 PM
montecarlomike81
Monte Carlo Repair Help
6
04-03-2008 06:13 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: PO420 With fairly new cat


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.