No dash lights or taillights - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

No dash lights or taillights

  #1  
Old 12-14-2018, 05:46 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Default No dash lights or taillights

I have a 2003 monte carlo ss having problems with night time dashlights and taillights everytime it gets dark it blows 15 amp fuse for taillights in passenger side fuse box ,i have replaced head light switch and all bulbs in vehicle, any help would be appreciated!
 
  #2  
Old 01-14-2019, 07:39 PM
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 76
Default

To the best of my knowledge, ALL cars are required to be built with the dash lights going out if your tail lights go out, so that you know you don't have tail lights. I have been a copy machine repairman for over 30 years, and I can tell you with almost absolute certainty that, somewhere in your tail light wiring you have a pinched wire somewhere, and when the lights come on your toasting the fuse. It also could be in the dash light circuitry. How quick you find it will depend on how good your memory is on whatever work was done to it right before you had the problem. Otherwise you will have to follow the wires and inspect them. Any place you took the car apart prior to having the problem is a likely spot. If you are any good with a wiring diagram and a multimeter, you can maybe shorten your time. You can get a multimeter Free sometimes at Harbor Freight, Set it for Ohms ( funny Horseshoe ) / Continuity, and you can start with the wires at the taillights that are suppossed to have 12v and see which is shorted to ground. If you need more detailed help let me know. Its possible that it could be shorting for some other reason, but most likely somewhere where some recent work was done.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-2019, 08:15 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you for the info, as of right now i do have tail lights i don't know how but i do i covered up sensor on dash so i do have my taillights but still no dash lights i have just been dealing with and with the weather like it is where i live and no garage i have just been dealing with it but what you said makes sense since i have replaced blower motor and fan speed control relay that is where i was going to start to look! Again Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-2019, 09:31 PM
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 76
Default

Yeah, you prolly pinched a wire, don't feel bad, nothing any electrical repair person hasn't done a few times ! :-)
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.