General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

ECM/PCM Performance Tuners...Opinions

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2008, 07:29 PM
Default ECM/PCM Performance Tuners...Opinions

I am looking for some input from some MCF members that have had performance tuning done on their Monte Carlo. I have a 2007 SS that I amdefinitely going to have tuned or tune myself. There is a tuner shop in my area that will tune it for me using HP Tuners software. I can purchase a tuned ECM & TCM from Vector Performance. Diablo still does not have a tuner for 2007's. I'm considering buying the HP Tuners VCM Suite package and doing it myself. Anyone here have any experience with the HP Tuners software? I am a Chevy dealer technician so I am no stranger to module programming using the Tech 2 scan tool but I know the HP Tuners stuff is a whole different deal. I already own the laptop and I am not opposed to spending the cash on the HP package.Any input on this would be much appreciated.

Old 02-26-2008, 07:33 PM

Fallen to the Dark Side - Resident Ford Man
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default RE: ECM/PCM Performance Tuners...Opinions

I had mine tuned at Carolina Auto Masters in Durham, NC on the dyno... in my mind, very well worth it. I'm sure you've already researched what they do online... well I think it was worth the $350 I spent to have it done.

Of course mine is an 03.. but I hear it is very wroht the money to cut hte DoD off on your 06-07 SS's... Plus, to reset the shift points and slightly adjust your timing... very well worht it. I picked up 3 theths of a second, and about 1.5 mph on the 1/8 mile track down the road from me. I don't know what I could have picked up on the quarter.

In my opinion, no matter which way you go, its worht the tune.