General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

Bought a stock '07. Seeking upkeep advice.

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2009, 06:17 PM
Default Bought a stock '07. Seeking upkeep advice.

Hello everyone. Another newbie here who's looking for advice.

In late May '09, I bought a stock, unmodified '07 Monte LT from a non-GM franchised dealer in SC. At the time of the deal, it had 11K miles. Clean CarFax, and one private owner before me (no rental or fleet background). Standard features plus side airbags, leather with heated seats, 6-disc CD changer/MP3 player/RDS, XM sat radio, and 8-speaker premium sound. 3.5-liter flex-fuel V6. Silverstone Metallic with gray interior. Picked it up for $12,250 plus tax and tag. Currently it has 17K miles, and I plan to keep it stock with no mods.

I typically keep a car for 8-10 years, and I do my maintenance at the dealer going by the owner's manual schedule. I love this car and am very pleased to have it. Who cares if my import-owning friends don't understand it!

Since I'm new to a machine like this and to the late-model GM fold, I'd like to know what I can expect in terms of long-term reliability, durability, maintenance (expensive? cheap?), and if there are any issues I should watch for as the car ages and accumulates more miles. Should I anticipate any surprises, good or bad?

Any helpful input from you all is welcome. I'm coming at this feeling a little vulnerable and not knowing what to expect for the coming years.

Thanks!

-M

Old 11-01-2009, 07:01 PM
Monte Of The Month - February 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

welcome to the forum, we like pics, so please post some and what are the specs on your LT, motor, 3.5 or 3.9? post more info when you get a chance, see ya

Old 11-01-2009, 07:16 PM