Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

question on swiching out a 3800

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2011, 09:28 AM
Question question on swiching out a 3800

ok I am just learning about motors as I go so bare with me please. I want to swap my stock 3800 ss with a supercharged one or maybe if its easier just modify it and add a supercharger. Which its the easiest and or cheapest way. And is there maybe a tread out there that can help me more?

Old 06-18-2011, 01:07 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Just do a top end swap.

All you need is a tuned PCM (order one from ZZP, let them know it's a topswap)

The supercharger, fuel rails, throttle body, lower intake manifold, heads, and the harmonic balancer from an L67.

Old 06-18-2011, 04:21 PM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

I have not done a 3800 n/a to 3800 SC swap OR a top swap.... But from what I've read, a top swap can come with some added trouble (just stuff unplanned for).

My reading on the topic says if it's a daily driver and your REALLY want to super charge it, get an engine already with a super charger, the PCM and wiring.

There are a LOT of topics on this concept. Best I can recommend, seek people that have done both types of swaps and go from there.

Old 06-18-2011, 07:59 PM

Alright thanks

Old 06-19-2011, 01:18 AM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2012
Monte Of The Month -- December 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Originally Posted by The_Maniac
I have not done a 3800 n/a to 3800 SC swap OR a top swap.... But from what I've read, a top swap can come with some added trouble (just stuff unplanned for).