Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

6th Gen ('00-'05): Heads and cam with turbo upgrade but stock pistons. opinons needed

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2014, 08:40 PM
Default Heads and cam with turbo upgrade but stock pistons. opinons needed

Hello first a little back story so you know what I'm working with. I'm an amateur mechanic on my best day and my buddy that ill be working with is a wyotech grad. I have a 2001 monte carlo ss with a n/a L36 series 2 3800 car is 100% stock at this point and upgrades will be done on a crate n/a L36 series 2 3800 due to mileage concerns. originally we wanted to stick in JE forged pistons with a ceramic coating and ZZP H beam connecting rods, ported heads with 140# springs, a COMP-3306/3308-112+0-NIC cam, and a
Stattama T67 turbo. also upgraded trans, exhaust, and a suspension work over. After doing some research we couldn't find any one close with a crank shaft balance so we decided that even though we would lose power to just leave the pistons and connecting roads stock. Is this mechanically an okay idea I say mechanically because really the only thing im worryed about is shattering a piston or bending/braking a rod. I'd appreciate every ones opinion on this. Thanks in advance everyone, skyler

Old 09-12-2014, 10:58 PM
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Do not touch the bottom end. People make crazy power on a stock short block with no issues, if you install forged pistons IMO you wasted your money on things you didn't need.

Everything else sounds good, look into the turbo cams as well as they are very nice also.

You won't chip a piston or bend/break a rod if its tuned right (not lean and no knock)

Old 09-13-2014, 11:24 AM