Showcase Your Ride Post Photo-shoots, Videos, Sound Clips about your ride!

5th Gen ('95-'99): The zipper repair/rebuild thread

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2015, 10:53 AM
Monte Of The Month -- March 2011
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default The zipper repair/rebuild thread

This is going to be a long work in progress because I'm not sure about how much time I'll have to be able to work on my Monte between work, my family and kids, and life in general. But as some of you may know, I ran the Monte at the dragstrip a little bit ago and had a good time. On my sixth time down the 1/4 mile though, something let out in the Monte and now it has a bad miss with the spark plug on cylinder number 2 being smushed.

So, I'm starting to tear down into the Monte. And here's how things are looking so far. I'll keep updating as I make more progress and identify the problem. I'm also doing this in order for me to remember all that I did.

Here I'm just getting started:

Name:  20150829_084219.jpg
Views: 44
Size:  229.8 KB

The Novi 2000 is gone now:

Name:  20150829_085938.jpg
Views: 84
Size:  221.6 KB

Making room in the engine bay and a little more progress:

Name:  20150829_091219.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  223.6 KB

Alternator's gone:

Name:  20150829_091550.jpg
Views: 88
Size:  202.0 KB

Found a broken mount bolt while I was taking it apart:

Name:  20150829_091948.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  163.0 KB

Half of the driver's side mount is gone now:

Name:  20150829_092150.jpg
Views: 45
Size:  212.1 KB

The supercharger setup is off now. The engine bay looks so empty without it.

Name:  20150829_094355.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  211.2 KB

And here's the supercharger setup sitting out:

Name:  20150829_094525.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  137.3 KB

Old 08-30-2015, 03:29 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member