Other Professional Racing.. Formula 1, Sprint, Rally & Off Road, SCCA Auto X, Le Mans, Pro Stock, Cart, Drag, IROC, etc.

>Chevy wins Sebring for the first time in 50 years <

Old 03-23-2015, 02:18 PM
BeachBumMike's Avatar
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SpaceCoast, Florida
Posts: 16,095
Thumbs up >Chevy wins Sebring for the first time in 50 years <

Chevy wins Sebring for the first time in 50 years
The last time Chevrolet won the 12 Hours of Sebring outright, Jim Hall was piloting a Chaparral 2

It was a banner day for Chevrolet, and Corvette in particular, at the 2015 Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring.
The last time Chevrolet scored the overall win at Sebring was in 1965—50 years ago. That was the year Jim Hall drove his Chaparral 2 to victory. Victory had eluded the Bowtie ever since...until yesterday.

The #5 Action Express Corvette Daytona Prototype driven by the team of Christian Fittipaldi, Joao Barbosa and Sebastien Bourdais, took the overall win, and was joined on the podium by two more Corvette DPs.
Say what you want about the tube-frame, mid-engine DP class, but they left a trail of dead prototypes in their wake. The only P2 car to finish was the polesitter, Krohn Racing's Ligier/Judd. After taking damage early, it ended the day 8th overall and 6th among prototypes. Both diesel Mazdas, both ESM Hondas, the #60 Ligier/Honda, and the #0 DeltaWing all retired.

Jamey Price

2015 Audi R18 E-Tron Quattro — Photos

In GTLM, Chevy scored another big win with the #3 Corvette Racing C7.R , piloted by Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Ryan Briscoe. That makes the yellow Vette perfect through the first two races of the season, following its win at the Rolex 24. Second place went to the Risi Ferrari and third to the Falken Porsche.

Jamey Price

In Prototype Challenge—where all the spec Orecas run Chevy power—victory went to the #52 Oreca FLM09 driven by Mike Guasch, Andrew Palmer and Tom Kimber-Smith. They finished a full 11 seconds ahead of the second-place CORE Autosports car.
Finally, GTD went to Ian James, Mario Farnbacher and Alex Riberas in the #23 Porsche 911 GT America.

Jamey Price

The 2015 Tudor Championship returns to action next month at Long Beach.

Last edited by BeachBumMike; 03-23-2015 at 02:24 PM.
Related Topics
Thread Starter
Last Post
Other Professional Racing..
03-18-2012 10:54 AM
Other Professional Racing..
11-30-2010 11:33 AM
04-08-2010 10:37 PM
09-10-2007 06:57 PM
wiz kidd
03-26-2007 06:26 PM

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: >Chevy wins Sebring for the first time in 50 years <

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.