Tachometer malfunctioning? Here's a video inside - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums

Go Back  Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums > General Forums > Monte Carlo Repair Help
Reload this Page >

Tachometer malfunctioning? Here's a video inside

Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Tachometer malfunctioning? Here's a video inside

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 08-19-2011, 03:08 PM
Emnasty600's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northborough Massachusetts
Posts: 272
Default Tachometer malfunctioning? Here's a video inside

IMG_0030.mp4 video by emnasty600 - Photobucket


is this just the tach going or is this a filter problem?
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2011, 02:17 AM
Emnasty600's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northborough Massachusetts
Posts: 272
Default

Bump?
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2011, 10:59 PM
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: charleston, south carolina
Posts: 259
Default

hahahaha awesome, over 9000!!! u got a badass motor man. but no in all seriousness, all three of my g-body montes had all the gauges stop working. maybe its a monte carlo curse but its a problem withe head unit. quick solution, buy aftermarket gauges.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2011, 09:39 PM
Emnasty600's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Northborough Massachusetts
Posts: 272
Default

im thinking its the filter, going to try to bypass it and see if it works, if not im gonna get a column tach that covers up where the stock one is. Rather do that than remove any guages because of how brittle they probably are with their age.
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2016, 12:43 PM
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

I have a factory tach in my 85 Monte that's not working. Is there any way I can test it before I send it out for repair. There is power to the back of the tach. Is there something between the tach and the distributor I need to know about? Tried to find a wiring diagram of the tach circuit without success. Can anyone please help?

PS there an integrated clock on the tach that works.
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2016, 08:43 AM
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Where do I find this video for the Tach?
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2016, 10:34 AM
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

Where's the video?
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2016, 06:53 PM
shawn parker's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2016
1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Ronan MT
Posts: 637
Default

Originally Posted by fcompoccio View Post
Where's the video?
The first post contains the link to the vid on photo bucket

IMG_0030.mp4 video by emnasty600 - Photobucket
 
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2016, 02:17 PM
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 6
Default

I dont understand the video just shows a tach malfunctioning. Is this correct? I thought it was to show troubleshooting.
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Aborolus
Monte Carlo Repair Help
0
03-12-2014 11:35 PM
dan1313
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
6
09-02-2011 12:42 PM
Emnasty600
General Monte Carlo Talk
8
07-22-2011 06:33 PM
7498MonteCarlo
Off Topic
6
09-13-2010 10:09 AM
fever42
Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders
5
08-29-2009 11:48 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory