Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

New B . In need of help ? 87 mc LS stock speedo gear ???

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 08:14 PM
Question New B . In need of help ? 87 mc LS stock speedo gear ???

Hay there monte car drivers . I'm new to this form . Just picked up a 87 monte Carlo LS luxury sport v6 auto car with a 350 motor and 350 turbo trans 3speed . I'm not sure what year motor or trans that's in it I know the guy said it still has the original v6 rear end limited slip in it but do not know what gears are in it .. So my second day haveing the car drove it to work . And on my way home my speedo stoped working . Well the speedo housing fell out still on the end of the cable but lost my speedo gear . So now I'm in a search for what number tooth gear to put in it . But the one that was it it . Was off . About 5-6 mph faster . Not sure if it was stock original speedo gear . And not sure what trans it original had in it my guess is the 200r4 but that's a crazy guess . And I'm looking for help . Has any one on here have the same set up as I have ? 87 mc v6 LS car with a 350 and 350 turbo trans with stock rear end ? and what speedo gear do u have ? And even if I knew what the stock speedo gear I would try that and give me a good starting point to find the right one . So if any one can help me get some info to get my car back on the road that would be vary awesome . Please halp with your wise info of the monte Carlo . . Thanks again for taking the time to read and help me . Thanks. Drew.

Old 07-19-2012, 09:34 PM