Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

6th Gen ('00-'05): Multiple problems, fed up with car

Old 09-23-2014, 01:41 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Multiple problems, fed up with car

Ok so I haven't been on the forums for a while and over the time, my car has accumulated some issues.

First, there's an issue with my lights. I understand these cars have DRLs, but before, I was able to turn them off at night. Now, I can't turn them off at all. Also, during the day, the interior lights (dash, cluster, etc) are extremely dim and I'm not really able to see them unless I really try. I am also getting an SVS light.

Next, I have an issue with my car's acceleration. Sometimes it's good, sometimes it just feels extremely heavy. I read it could be the cat, so I had it removed, still saving to buy the replacement. I am a college student so the funds aren't always there.after removing it, the problem persist. The car has around 160k miles and I purchased it when it had around 115k miles and have changed the spark plugs two or three times. I noticed that the acceleration was pretty good right after switching the spark plugs but will get bad after a week or so.

Next, when I make left turns, sometimes the Adel doesn't pop into place or something because the engine just revs and when it pops in to place, it gives a kick from the tranny. It's only on left turns though and to avoid it, I make pretty slow left turns or let the car coast into the turn if I have momentum to avoid giving it gas while the wheel is turned to the left. When I make right turns, it's perfectly fine.