Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Major oil leak!

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2014, 08:29 AM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Major oil leak!

Just yesterday I posted below about a simple "fun" issue... (Sound if my new ZZP downpipe)... Minutes after posting I decided to see just how fast my 03 would go... HUGE MISTAKE! I blew something... Oil is coming out of what appears to be the lowest pulley... Forgive me but I'm no mechanic. All I can say is my belt is wet with oil and so is some of the accessories. Also dealing with a bad tap when motor cold (lifters?) but that's a different issue. Last night a friend changed my oil because the other day when we had the cat installed the shop added who knows what to address tap issue... Problem was... Appeared to be at least a quart over full... Had I of known that maybe I wouldn't have raced motor! So we changed oil and sprayed pulleys, belt and other areas with brake cleaner to try and isolate leak. Came out this morning to a least a half quart in driveway and after start up, engine wet with oil.. Pretty certain it's that lower pulley... The largest one... Oil seems to be coming from there... What is it? Expensive repair? Car has 120k with tapping until up to temp... One last note.. Heard grinding sound... Narrowed it down to the pulley tensioner? It stopped grinding now squeaks... Please help!

Old 03-14-2014, 11:25 AM

In regards to the squeaky pulley tensioner... Can I get away with just replacing the actual bearing pulley that the belt rides on or does that entire assembly need to be replaced?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
image.jpg (72.6 KB, 0 views)
Old 03-14-2014, 11:52 AM

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member