Monte Carlo Repair Help Have a Monte problem and need help? Good at troubleshooting? Discuss it here!

Gas Pedal sticks just the first time, after sitting. Carbon buildup??

Old 04-16-2006, 12:18 PM
Default Gas Pedal sticks just the first time, after sitting. Carbon buildup??

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie. I have a 2002 SS, The gas pedal sticks alittle, just in the morning, after sitting all night, Then its fine all day until the next morning. I took it to the dealer, they said it was carbon buildup on the throttle linkage. They wanted to charge me $125 to clean it. Everyone have this problem. Thanks for any help. Dave

Old 04-16-2006, 12:36 PM
Default RE: Gas Pedal sticks just the first time, after sitting. Carbon buildup??

I've heard of this problem a handfull of times. For $125, I would do it myself...

Welcome to the forum!!

Old 04-16-2006, 01:05 PM
Default RE: Gas Pedal sticks just the first time, after sitting. Carbon buildup??

How would I go about it, Using what cleaner. Or am I making a bigger project than it really is.
Thanks Dave

Old 04-16-2006, 05:14 PM

Well, I have not pulled my TB apart, YET, but I would start by removing the intake tube to see what you can get to there, worse case, you will have to remove your TB which should not be all the difficult, regular ole carb cleaner will do the trick in most cases. I'll hunt around for a how to for you.

Old 04-19-2006, 08:04 AM

i am 99% sure you can get at it without removing the TB. for best results yes pull the TB but you dont have to.

when i clean TB before i Port and polish them i use brake cleaner! it works wonders. but i wouldnt spray that into your intake if you leave the TB on. I say do this:

-remove the tube from the air box to theTB
-take tape and cover the MAF sensor or remove it out the top
-spray carb cleaner in TB with plate closed then open and spray again. let sit for a few min