MCF Website Problems & Issues This area is for problems or suggestions relating specifically to the MCF site, not the car.

Opinion Needed: Please help

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2021, 05:21 PM
Default Please help

I'm no mechanic by far but thanks to this website and chat forums as well as google and youtube, I'm slowly learning so any advice would be greatly appreciated! I bought a used 04 MC SS v6 3.8 and it was a descent running car until I decided to wash the motor and everything around it due to the dirt buildup on it. It took over 3 hours to get it started and running good enough to limp it home. Since then, everything has gone downhill. I've replaced battery, spark plugs and wires, o2 sensor, throttle position sensor, fuel injector, and the thingy two of the 6 spark plugs go in to (can't remember name). Seemed to improve the run/idle issue briefly and then both got way worse. Then traveling home my car would "power up" long enough to reach speed limit then cut out and go down to around 55 mph before picking power back up (was a very long ride home). Was told to replace the engine control unit/power train module so I purchased a "plug and play". Disconnected battery totally swapped computer out, reconnected battery, opened door and got in to start car cause that's what I was instructed to do. All lights and power and no start at all. Would do nothing. Security light blinking. Tried all relearn procedures found here and online and still no luck. Assuming the new computer may be incorrectly programmed I ordered another one. Put it in and same thing. This is my only vehicle and it's been over a week so if anyone has any ideas id greatly appreciate it. I can't afford pulling it to a dealership after purchasing all other parts now

Old 11-05-2021, 08:39 AM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2017
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member