Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

wiring a head unit without anything to wire to?

  #1  
Old 07-06-2011, 01:42 PM
76'Monte-carlo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 14
Default wiring a head unit without anything to wire to?

K just got a new head unit for my 76 monte and i took out the origional sterio (didnt work or would of kept it) but anyways ive noticed that someone has took out any wires to connect the head unit to any speakers, ground wire, power wire, ect... so i am wondering if i could bypass all of that and re wire the head unit to whatever it goes to like the battery and connecting the ground and all that but dont know where all of that would go so any help would be appritiated..
 
  #2  
Old 07-06-2011, 04:21 PM
Budsjlm's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- September 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Posts: 7,725
Default

i am not sure what the 76 fuse box looks like but in my 85 it was easy to do just ran them power, ign(switched) to open spots on the block , ran wires to my speakers under the trim/carpet then find a spot to put your ground wire and hook up your antena



google searching came up with yoou have the old school bus fuse style but like in the pic it has spots for the ignition and the bat, take a look and you could do it there

this is the pics i came up with off google
 

Last edited by Budsjlm; 07-06-2011 at 04:24 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-07-2011, 01:12 AM
76'Monte-carlo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: illinois
Posts: 14
Default

k i see what u are talking about now. its ganna be a lot easyer than i was thinking thanx for the help
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-2011, 01:30 AM
lougreen03's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 8,442
Default

Yes it is a lot easier in those old ones then the new ones. In 76 all a radio did was play music, not control half the cars electronics.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Habbibie
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
11
06-27-2013 01:09 PM
Cheezburglar
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
3
10-30-2012 04:53 AM
Murray137
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
4
10-20-2012 08:13 PM
Killacam
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
41
12-10-2011 09:17 PM
caserod7045
Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics
2
10-21-2006 02:05 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: wiring a head unit without anything to wire to?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.