Interior/Audio/Visual Electronics Discuss your audio/visual system and your interior here.

Program Factory Remotes

  #1  
Old 12-29-2015, 06:22 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Program Factory Remotes

I have tried a few different methods I have found on this forum and a few others with no luck. I am looking for a way to program a new Keyless entry remote on my 04 Monte Carlo SS with an aftermarket headunit. Is there a surefire way to do it or am I either going to have to goto the dealer or put the factory radio back in the car?
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-2015, 06:27 PM
ZIPPY02's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mountains of Utah
Posts: 4,653
Default

I took mine back to the Chevrolet dealership from where I bought my car this past summer to have 2 fobs I bought off of eBay programmed, $50 for the 1st and $15 more for the 2nd . So I thought that was a good enough price.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-2015, 06:40 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

Ok I might do that as I have to have a BCM programmed anyway guess I will just get them to do both remotes then also, unless anyone else knows of a way to do it.
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-2015, 09:09 PM
plumbob's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,280
Default

Originally Posted by ZIPPY02 View Post
I took mine back to the Chevrolet dealership from where I bought my car this past summer to have 2 fobs I bought off of eBay programmed, $50 for the 1st and $15 more for the 2nd . So I thought that was a good enough price.
Zippy, congratulations on having a dealer that is more fair than most. Years ago a dealer near me charged $120 just for the programming, another $75 for the fob. I suppose there are a few honest dealers out there, but this is one of the primary reasons I decided to buy my own Tech 2 and factory service manual and do everything myself. The Tech 2 has paid for itself many times over.

Jason, unfortunately you can't self program a fob without the factory radio, a Tech 2 scanner or a key programming tool. Many lock shops can do it too.
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-2015, 11:53 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by plumbob View Post
Zippy, congratulations on having a dealer that is more fair than most. Years ago a dealer near me charged $120 just for the programming, another $75 for the fob. I suppose there are a few honest dealers out there, but this is one of the primary reasons I decided to buy my own Tech 2 and factory service manual and do everything myself. The Tech 2 has paid for itself many times over.

Jason, unfortunately you can't self program a fob without the factory radio, a Tech 2 scanner or a key programming tool. Many lock shops can do it too.
Where did you get your Tech 2 and how much did you pay? I would get one also if the price was right.
 
  #6  
Old 01-03-2016, 12:16 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

So I swapped in my OEM headunit for a bit and programmed my new remote however it does exactly like the old remote that I thought was failing due to taking a unexpected drink. Basically sometimes it will lock/unlock my car sometimes it wont. Sometimes I have to be right on top of the car sometimes I can be a little bit away. Any ideas as to what is going on with it?
 
  #7  
Old 01-03-2016, 12:40 PM
plumbob's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,280
Default

Are any other functions besides the door lock/unlock weak... horn or trunk?
The receiver could be going out or have a bad wire connection.
 
  #8  
Old 01-03-2016, 01:32 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

Seems like all functions of the remote are weak. Does the receiver have to be programmed to the car via dealer or tech2?
 
  #9  
Old 01-03-2016, 01:53 PM
plumbob's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- January 2016
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,280
Default

If ALL functions are weak, the receiver is not the problem. The receiver is just for the door locks. You mentioned you need to have the BCM programmed. If you're having a problem with the BCM, it or the wire connections to it could be the culprit since it's the "brain" for the keyless entry system. If it or the receiver get replaced all fobs need to be reprogrammed with a Tech 2.
 

Last edited by plumbob; 01-03-2016 at 01:55 PM.
  #10  
Old 01-03-2016, 02:09 PM
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default

I was suspecting a faulty BCM as I was having passlock issues, but replaced the keyswitch first and that took care of it. I do have a new AC Delco BCM that is just sitting in the backseat, but I don't seem to be having any issues anymore with the current BCM other than the current state of my remotes.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.