Headers/Intake/Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

need some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2006, 11:48 PM
Default need some help

I have a 95 z34, and i'm trying to figure out what i want to do with the exhaust setup. I plan on doing the U-bend delete. but i'm not sure if i should have a cat or not. if i have a cat, which one should i get and what should the rest of my setup be? I don't know if the flowmaster 40's will give me the sound i'm looking for. I want it to sound pretty throaty for a V6. I'm new to the monte carlo world so let me know what you think would be the best setup. thanks
-casey

Old 10-24-2006, 01:31 PM
Default RE: need some help

Hey Bro! welcome to the board! luck you. im one of the few with that enigne on the board. well there are a few diff between the 95 and the 96 but pretty much they are the same. let me tell you what i have done and you will be in great shape!

if your looking for a nice sound out of the car, i would start with an air intake first. then do hte exhaust. here is my WWW i have tons of pics and on pg 6 i have a write up with how to's most importantly it will show you how to build a FWI for your/our cars for very cheep... id say under $40-50

OK now for the question of exhaust. your/our cars have a 2.5" down pipe factory so that wont need to be changed unless your doing major upgrades...also our cars dont have that horable "U bend" i have a completely new system from the DP back. here is how it's set up:
-High Flow Cat 2.5" (any HF cat should do, id stick with magnaflow to keep it all the same) also if you do a HF cat, you will need an O2 simulator or need to buy a performace PCM with the O2 codes removed you can get them at ( http://60degreev6.com/store/ ) and if you cant find one there PM me i'll find you one.
-Magnaflow muffler can style 6"x14" -2.5" dia
-2.5" Glass pack where the factory resonator was next to the gas tank