General Monte Carlo Talk Talk about the Monte Carlo. Does not have to be your Monte. Can include pics and games.

85 Monte Carlo 4.3 to 383 stroke engine swap please help

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 10:25 PM
Unhappy 85 Monte Carlo 4.3 to 383 stroke engine swap please help

I have a 85 Monte Carlo fuel injected 4.3/v6 I am looking to swap the engine and tranny for a 383 stroker and th400 tranny. I have never done a engine swap before. I am really confused as to the ecu and wiring harness were do I get the ecu or wiring harness from a ss? Please help!!!

Old 07-26-2014, 05:07 AM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

Unless you are required to I'd just do away with the engine harness and ecu, toss a vac advanced distributer and non computer controlled carb good to go

Old 07-26-2014, 07:26 AM

If I was to get rid of ecu completely and wiring harness what all would i have to wire back up to work? Tail lights, radio , headlights, etc ? Is it as easy as removing the ecu and harness and dropping the engine in and go?

Old 07-27-2014, 08:54 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2015
3 Year Member
1 Year Member

If you are serious about doing this you will need

New engine, mounts, transmission, tranny mounts, wiring harness, ecu, rad, possibly new rear end to handle the upgraded power, new front suspension (meaning shocks and such as the new motor will be heavier and your current suspension may not handle it), but the time the dust settles you would be further ahead to sell your car and buy a car with a v8 already in it.

Anything the V6 bolts to, and anything that bolts to the V6, will be different than the V8. Only possible exceptions are AC compressor (but the hoses and brackets will be different), alternator (early V6's were different, and again the brackets & wiring are different anyway), and power steering pump (guess what - the brackets & hoses are different).