Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6th Gen ('00-'05): Will The 3800 Throttle Body Fit The 3400?

  #1  
Old 02-24-2018, 07:27 PM
Mastermiller's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Default Will The 3800 Throttle Body Fit The 3400?

I have a 2002 Monte Carlo 3400 and I'd like a better Throttle Body but as we all know, There's more 3800 Performance upgrades.
Wondering if I could put the 3800 on the 3400?

Thank you for any help.
 
  #2  
Old 02-25-2018, 07:32 AM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: around cal city,il
Posts: 3,138
Default

I think it fits but I could surely be wrong on that one.. Here are a couple options for the 3400 tho....

59mm Ported Throttle Body for 3100/3400 Engines - Milzy Motorsports

TCE 3100/3400 Billet Throttle Body - Milzy Motorsports

Guy really knows his 3400's..
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-2018, 10:03 AM
Mastermiller's Avatar
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Thank you and that second one looks great
 
  #4  
Old 02-26-2018, 07:51 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,955
Default

The 3800 and 3100/3400 throttle bodies do not mount directly up. The platforms are way different and about the only interchangeable part are the coil packs.
Here are some performance upgrades you can look at for a 3400 Monte:
https://montecarloforum.com/forum/fw...p-power-46071/

As for the throttle body, some people do run a bigger throttle body on the 3400 (usually it is to work with a 3500 top swap). But another thing you could do if you are handy with a Dremel, half shafting. I have a Grand Am with a 3400, I half shafted the throttle body and bypassed the coolant running through it.
Here's a thread about that:
https://montecarloforum.com/forum/fw...hafting-56966/
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-2018, 07:45 AM
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Isanti, MN
Posts: 828
Default

Very nice work Mainiac I'm sure it's worth a few more cfm"s . Between that and a CAI and filter I would expect some gains.
 
  #6  
Old 02-27-2018, 05:47 PM
The_Maniac's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- December 2011
Monte Of The Month -- September 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 10,955
Default

Thanks Jeff! It gave some pep in the step on the Grand Am. Best of all, it can be a free mod if I did not work with a donor throttle body lol!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.