Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

6th Gen ('00-'05): tranny issue

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2014, 03:39 PM
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Default tranny issue

new to the forum im looking for a monte carlo to start a build on i had one before but sold it for financial reasons.im a student working towards a degree in body collision ive been working on cars for a few years now so i wouldnt say im a beginner but wouldnt say im a pro.im looking to pick up something very cheap that i can work on.

i found this car the owner will take $400 they just want it gone but the issue is the owner says the transmission is acting up making the car jump and not accelerate over 30 mph "at TIMES".

Monte Carlo ls

not a big issue to me the problem is i live in Lansing Mi the car is in Detroit MI im about 70-80 miles away(hour drive) they said they wouldnt recommend me putting it on the highway but i dont have a dolly or a way to tow it back

can someone tell me if this trans is mostly shot or is it possible to get this going on the highway?

Old 01-29-2014, 04:16 PM
Monte Of The Month -- April 2015
3 Year Member
1 Year Member

Did they tell you if it was throwing a code of any kind?

There is a good chance it is either the pressure control solenoid, which causes the tranny to shift rather hard at times as it sticks and builds up pressure in the lines. Or the torque converter, similar issues but it usually either locks up in a gear or takes forever to shift.