Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Spark Plug change

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2012, 05:03 PM
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Default Spark Plug change

Now, I plan to change my spark plugs, I want to use AC delco Platnum or Iradium, guess that it is. But I have. Ever done it before, but I hear it is easy, are you recommended to detach the battery before you try? Something about blowing a fuse, right? Are their any special tools that I need to use to accomplish this?

Old 08-13-2012, 05:54 PM
Monte Of The Month -- March 2011
5 Year Member

It's an easy job. I'm not sure if they recommend disconnecting the battery, but I've never done that before, and I've changed the plugs/wires plenty of times in my Monte with no issues.

The only thing is that I DON'T recommend using platinum plugs. They're too expensive, you don't gap them, and copper plugs are better for our engines anyways. If you want some good plugs that I use to use in my Monte when I was NA, and I also use these in my 03 Malibu (3100 v6) check these out: NGK - NGK Spark Plug #

Gap those at .060" and you're all set. You can get a spark plug socket to make the install a little easier too if you want. Otherwise, the job is very straightforward.

Old 08-13-2012, 06:02 PM
Monte Of The Month -- August 2011
Monte Of The Month -- April 2014
5 Year Member

I changed the plugs on the Deuce no need to disconnect the battery was medium easy but I had the valve cover off the rear bank. I used AC/Delco iradium

Old 08-13-2012, 06:40 PM

Thanks guys, I was wonder

Old 08-13-2012, 06:42 PM

If it was an easy thing to do, I am glad I did not buy them already I am gonna tackle it tomorrow.

Old 08-13-2012, 07:48 PM
Monte Of The Month -- September 2010
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

You can also pull the engine forward, just pull off the dogbones, that makes things 100x easier.

Old 08-13-2012, 07:59 PM