Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Engine Build: Monte Carlo Intimidator engine rebuild

Old 07-28-2014, 11:48 AM
1 Year Member
Default Monte Carlo Intimidator engine rebuild

Ok so I'm going to be shipped off for basic training and AIT within the next month and a half (find out Thursday) and I get to come home for Christmas and new years, I plan on having my Monte's engine rebuilt and adding this Stage 1 kit ZZPerformance - Stage 1 Performance Package #ZZ-STG1PP to it. I can have my uncle work on it while I'm gone and I'm new to all this kind of stuff (he knows what he is doing he bbuilds cars all the time) but I was wondering what you guys thought and I'm open to any suggestions for the rebuild and about the kit. Again I'm pretty new to this so any help is good help thanks!

Old 07-28-2014, 02:43 PM
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

In my opinion I would not do this. You can have an exhaust shop remove the u bend and weld a straight section of pipe with a o2 bung for cheap. You could look on other forums for a modular pull hub and pulley and save cost there buying new. As far as tunes go I'm not a fan of zzp tunes but that's just me. The drop in air filter is a waste IMO, just buy a whole intake from "cold air inductions"

Old 07-28-2014, 02:44 PM
10 Year Member

Your monte is supercharged correct? This is for a supercharged car.

Old 07-28-2014, 05:44 PM
1 Year Member

Originally Posted by turbo monte
Your monte is supercharged correct? This is for a supercharged car.
I forgot to mention that, I have a K&N cold air intake on it right now. I don't need the air filter. And yep, its the 3.8 supercharged

Old 07-28-2014, 06:48 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member