Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Modding ideas and questions.. Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2013, 08:10 AM
Question Modding ideas and questions.. Help

Ok everyone I'm new to the monte scene and the Modding scene all together I have a few questions I hope you all can answer question one where should I go from here I have an 04 monte ss dale Jr supercharged and I recently put a k&n cold air intake and a dynomax super turbo cat back exhaust everything else is stock as far as I know what are some mods to go from here. Second question what is a Whipple?
Also wanting to add I'm going to be junking my k&n intake because it's the biggest pos I've ever bought i am ordering a wizaired from zzp in the next few days
Please post and give me your knowledge

Old 09-26-2013, 08:26 AM

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
15 Year Member
10 Year Member5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member

One of the best things you can do is read this thread: https://montecarloforum.com/forum/en...-bumpin-24896/

Your engine is the L67. A whipple is a twin-screw supercharger which works differently than your roots blower. I would keep the supercharger that you have and just get it ported. Other things you can do is free up the exhaust. Headers (or at LEAST a ZZP Powerlog + Downpipe) are necessary before you do much modding. The front exhaust manifold and stock downpipe are the biggest restrictions on these cars.

Then you can lower the thermostat setting from 195 to 180. This helps keeps your iron block cool, because iron engines and heat aren't that great. Then you probably want to open the valves a tiny bit more for that little extra air into the engine, this is where the 1.9 modified rockers sit. Doing that job also let's you replace the valve cover gaskets which are a known leak spot.