How to reset engine oil change and low tire pressure - Monte Carlo Forum - Monte Carlo Enthusiast Forums


Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-27-2012, 09:58 AM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default How to reset engine oil change and low tire pressure

I changed the oil on my 2004 Monte Carlo SS which I just bought. How do I reset the "change oil" lights? Also, the "low tire pressure is always coming on" I checked them all 2 days ago and inflated all to 37, still on, today I inflated all to 40, still on. Could it be a sensor rather than a PSI issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:00 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,493
Default

Both are done through the radio. Key On, turn the radio off, hold the DISP button until the options come through.

Scroll through with seek buttons, then use the 1 and 2 (prev and next) buttons to go through the sub menu. You will see reset for each, and hit the DISP button to reset.

Put your tires back to the recommended 30-32 PSI.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:09 AM
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

30-32? wow. The tires say max is 44 so I thought they needed to be close to that. Well here is the problem. The idiot I bought the car from changed the radio and put an aftermarket CD player. Then few months later he decided to remove the chime controller because it was 2 loud. He said that after he removed that piece (which I still have in the glove box, a rectangular black plastic piece)), the CD player didn't work anymore. So, what am I supposed to do now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:25 AM
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- August 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wyncote, PA
Posts: 24,493
Default

Now you have to do it the other way :p

Get in the car, key on, and pull the headlight switch 1 click out and push it back in. Do this 3 times in 5 seconds. That should do the tire pressure reset.

Then push the gas pedal ALL THE WAY DOWN, and let it all the way back out, do that 3 times in 5 seconds and that should fix the oil light.

Since you have the chime removed, you won't hear the ding saying it was done correctly.

Tires say MAX PSI, that is MAX psi when the tires are hot. That is where they will burst if they are at or above that pressure. That is only the specs for THAT TIRE. On your door jam is a placard, that will tell you the proper pressures that was tested FOR THE CAR. The weight, the distribution, everything. This is a formula that car makers figure out to get the best possible ride quality, tire wear, gas mileage, etc.

NOW, if you are rotating your own tires and you notice that the sides are wearing a little faster than the middle you can add a couple of PSI because of the uneven wear, or if they are wearing in the middle instead of the sides, you can decrease the PSI a little, but always use the door placard as the starting point.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:48 AM
lougreen03's Avatar

Monte Of The Month -- March 2013
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: michigan
Posts: 8,442
Default

As far as the Radio goes you could go back to a stock stereo if you wanted but it would have to be programmed at the dealership or you could just replace with a new aftermarket unit and the proper connectors to make the steering wheel controls and all the bells work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2013, 02:55 PM
Ace25's Avatar
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fargo
Posts: 104
Default

Great info ChibiBlackSheep I think I missed this tidbit in my owners manual LOL. I had a slow leak, ran my tire over to get it fixed, but couldn't find the reset button.

I never would have thought of using the radio to set things in the PCM... I even have HP tuners software and was looking in there, but couldn't find anything on the tire pressure sensors...

thanks again!
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide: How to reset low tire pressure monitor montejass FWD Tech Guides '95-'07 30 07-25-2017 05:55 PM
"Low engine oil level" light on when not low on oil? TMoney Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders 6 08-18-2013 03:37 PM
6th Gen ('00-'05): Low tire pressure wont reset SteveCZ28 Tires/Rims/Suspension 22 03-13-2012 04:04 PM
Random Low Tire Pressure Light. Reset?? Mr.Monte Tires/Rims/Suspension 10 02-18-2012 06:26 PM
Can't Reset (Low Tire Pressure) Warning benh911f Monte Carlo Repair Help 20 07-21-2011 08:00 AM


Tags
2000, 2004, aftetmarket, carlo, change, chevrolet, engine, light, low, monte, oil, pressure, radio, reset, tire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.