Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

How does auto transmissions `shift ?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2013, 12:53 PM
Monte Of The Month -- May 2014
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Question How does auto transmissions `shift ?

I am curious as to how much the Throttle Position, or the Sensing there of, has to do with how the Trans Shifts? I think I know the answer in a Shade Tree kind of way, but I wanna know the Technical Answer?

Last edited by Space; 09-15-2013 at 04:34 AM. Reason: 2 Help ?
Old 09-14-2013, 01:34 PM

Hi J.C.
I don't know `if the below will help you or not ?
I don't know a lot, but I do keep files & I am constantly
searching for answers `bout everything.

I'm a student of Google's & all Web Search Engines.
I enjoy searching/finding & learning so many things on
the World Wide Web.
I really don't know how anyone can get bored `if they
are connected 4-Sure!

I hope that you & Member's enjoy the below & that it
will help member's with a better understanding
of the automatic transmission.
I keep learning so much here on the MCF,
some good and some bad, but it's fun
and rewarding.
EnJoy

A Short Course on
Automatic Transmissions
<small style="font-size: 10px;">by Charles Ofria</small>
The modern automatic transmission is by far, the most complicated mechanical component in today's automobile. Automatic transmissions contain mechanical systems, hydraulic systems, electrical systems and computer controls, all working together in perfect harmony which goes virtually unnoticed until there is a problem. This article will help you understand the concepts behind what goes on inside these technological marvels and what goes into repairing them when they fail.

This article is broken down into five sections:
  • What is a transmission breaks down in the simplest terms what the purpose of a transmission is.