Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.

Engine transplant.

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2010, 10:24 AM
Default Engine transplant.

Ok Monte Carlo people, got a question for everyone, feel free to flame or ridicule me, as i am a GM noob.

Now i have plenty of engine car experiance, replaced and rebuilt many Ford and MoPar engines, never done a GM car before, yes i know, hard to believe, sad but true. Questions for everyone though.

From previous posts, you may know that my son has a 79 Monte with a 3.3. We are going to transplant a 350 into it. Great father son project.

Now, i have read that the 3.3 is based on a 350, with 2 cylinders cut off, just like the 318/3.9 MoPar engines, is this true?

If so, will the 350 bolt to the transmission, not quite sure what the trans is yet. its a 3 speed, did they put TH350's behind a V6? If i have to change the trans, do all gm transmissions use the same linkage?

If i keep the manifold, carb etc stock, do i need new linkages?

What wiring harness should i use? Is it easier to use a HEI Dist?

If i can keep the same harness, can i just get a V8 HEI and use it with the same harness?

Or is it easier to use a earlier non HEI/points set up?

Havent looked at the rear end yet, should i replace it with a stronger unit? Does anyone know offhand what axle they normally put behind a V6?

Those are my first major questions, thanks for any input

Last edited by rp23g7; 05-20-2010 at 10:51 AM.
Old 05-20-2010, 01:22 PM