Engine/Transmission/Performance Adders Chat about your engine, transmission, nitrous, superchargers, turbos, and tuning.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6th Gen ('00-'05): Anyone use larger oil filter for 3800?

  #1  
Old 08-16-2017, 06:56 PM
DAVESS2002's Avatar
3 Year Member
1 Year Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Enfield, CT
Posts: 214
Default Anyone use larger oil filter for 3800?

Hi everyone,
I'm wondering if there is any advantage running a longer oil filter on the 3800. the stock PF47 oil filter is 3.3" high. I found a Wix filter with same diameter and threads, but is 4.825 long. Looks like plenty of room to fit an extra 1.5 inches, not sure how much oil that would actually hold, but it may help in cooling the oil... has anyone tried this filter? Might allow the 3800 to hold 5 quarts instead of the 4.5 for the standard filter. I hate having to pour 4.5 quarts of oil out of a 5 quart jug and try to keep the last half quart in the jug.
Here is the Wix 51036 filter specs:
https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...360547&jsn=360
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-2017, 06:22 AM
drivernumber3's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- May 2015
Monte Of The Month -- March 2017
5 Year Member
3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 4,208
Smile

Originally Posted by DAVESS2002 View Post
Hi everyone,
I'm wondering if there is any advantage running a longer oil filter on the 3800. the stock PF47 oil filter is 3.3" high. I found a Wix filter with same diameter and threads, but is 4.825 long. Looks like plenty of room to fit an extra 1.5 inches, not sure how much oil that would actually hold, but it may help in cooling the oil... has anyone tried this filter? Might allow the 3800 to hold 5 quarts instead of the 4.5 for the standard filter. I hate having to pour 4.5 quarts of oil out of a 5 quart jug and try to keep the last half quart in the jug.
Here is the Wix 51036 filter specs:
https://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo...360547&jsn=360
I read somewhere that its better to have the larger filter. So I do that WIX is good, I use the AC DElco.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-2017, 09:19 AM
ZIPPY02's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mountains of Utah
Posts: 4,653
Default

Good question. There is one member, Turbo Monte who is running a larger oil filter on his 3800. Do not recall the actual size or part number. Perhaps he will see this and chime in as to the actual filter he uses.

I tried with his information but the oil filter adapter on mine unfortunately took up the extra space so I'm stuck using the OEM recommended size.

Like Drivernumber3 states WIX is a highly reputable brand. I use the AMSOIL filter and their 15-50 race oil. They also sell WIX on their website as an alternate filter.
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-2017, 08:58 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,213
Default

A PF52 will fit and is maybe 3/4" longer. I can't imagine it'll hold half a quart extra though. I also can't see it cooling the oil any better. Sounds like an oil cooler would do what you're looking for.

Honestly I never really understood the benefit to running a larger filter as long as you change your oil frequently. The filter media is likely the same, so it won't physically filter any better, it'll just let you go longer between oil changes as it'll take longer to plug up.

I don't push my oil changes anyways, just not worth the risk to me to damage an engine for $25.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-2017, 05:49 AM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: around cal city,il
Posts: 3,141
Default

Isnt it the 7th gen v8's filter that can be put onto a 3800??
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-2017, 02:58 PM
Monte Of The Month -- October 2009
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,213
Default

Originally Posted by wht02monte View Post
Isnt it the 7th gen v8's filter that can be put onto a 3800??
No, the LS4 uses a PF48. Larger center opening, different thread, and about the same height as a PF47. That would be far too much hassle to make work for basically no benefit.
 

Last edited by bumpin96monte; 08-18-2017 at 03:06 PM.
  #7  
Old 08-18-2017, 06:17 PM
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: georgia
Posts: 205
Default

Originally Posted by bumpin96monte View Post
A PF52 will fit and is maybe 3/4" longer. I can't imagine it'll hold half a quart extra though. I also can't see it cooling the oil any better. Sounds like an oil cooler would do what you're looking for.

Honestly I never really understood the benefit to running a larger filter as long as you change your oil frequently. The filter media is likely the same, so it won't physically filter any better, it'll just let you go longer between oil changes as it'll take longer to plug up.

I don't push my oil changes anyways, just not worth the risk to me to damage an engine for $25.




I agree
 
  #8  
Old 08-19-2017, 07:13 AM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: around cal city,il
Posts: 3,141
Default

Originally Posted by bumpin96monte View Post
No, the LS4 uses a PF48. Larger center opening, different thread, and about the same height as a PF47. That would be far too much hassle to make work for basically no benefit.
Hmm, wonder wth I heard that..
 
  #9  
Old 08-20-2017, 09:27 PM
turbo monte's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- July 2012
Monte Of The Month -- August 2016
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ford city, pa
Posts: 5,055
Default

I use a pf52. If it can fit safely why not have the extra protection or atleast piece of mind even if it doesn't do anything.
 
  #10  
Old 08-21-2017, 01:10 AM
ZIPPY02's Avatar
Monte Of The Month -- May 2012
Monte Of The Year 2012
Monte Of The Month -- February 2017
10 Year Member
5 Year Member3 Year Member1 Year Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mountains of Utah
Posts: 4,653
Default

Originally Posted by turbo monte View Post
I use a pf52. If it can fit safely why not have the extra protection or atleast piece of mind even if it doesn't do anything.
.........X2, what could it possibly hurt? The cost is the same, a tad more oil perhaps, a extra mega second to shut off the cars engine if the engine oil light comes on. I had a oil line fail before on my Monte, oil going everywhere. As soon as I saw the light come on, it was kill the ignition switch immediately and coasted around the corner and into a gas stations lot. Every little bit may have helped me.

But as I mentioned I had issues with a larger one, so now I try to run the absolute best for the peace of mind you speak of.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.